## Council of the City of York, Pennsylvania

Henry Hay Nixon, President of Council Sandie Walker, Vice President of Council Judy A. Ritter-Dickson, Member of Council Edquina Washington, Member of Council H. Michael Buckingham, Member of Council

Dianna L. Thompson-Mitchell, City Clerk

Email: dthompso@yorkcity.org



Office of York City Council 101 S. George St. York, Pennsylvania 17401

Telephone: (717) 849-2246 Fax: (717) 812-0557

Website: www.yorkcity.org

# **MINUTES December 3, 2019**

6:00 p.m.

Resolutions Approved | No Bills Approved

**CALL TO ORDER:** President Nixon called the December 3, 2019 meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. in Council Chambers, 101 S. George St., York, PA, with the following members present: H. Michael Buckingham, Edguina Washington, Judy A. Ritter-Dickson, Sandie Walker, Vice President, and Henry Hay Nixon, President, with President Nixon presiding.

Members of the Administration in attendance included: Tom Ray, Acting Director of Business Administration; Chad Deardorff, Fire Chief; Troy Bankert, Police Chief; James Crosby, Director of the Bureau of Housing Services; and Jason Sabol, Assistant Solicitor.

Members of York City Council staff in attendance included: Dianna L. Thompson-Mitchell, City Clerk

I. Public Comment: 6:00 p.m.

Jeff Kirkland said he is a small investor and would like a break from receiving parking tickets when conducting business in the city. He suggested parking passes be given to investors like himself to prevent them from getting ticketed when handling business in the city.

Richard Olvitt spoke about his neighbor's blighted home and although the neighbor is being fined for property maintenance issues, the problems still persist. He said the city needs to revamp its property maintenance laws to enforce stricter penalties to hold tenants/homeowners accountable for their properties.

There being no further public comment, President Nixon adjourned public comment at 6:08 p.m. and immediately convened in legislative session.

- II. Called Legislative Meeting to Order: 6:08 PM
- III. Roll Call
- IV. Pledge of Allegiance recited.
- V. Moment of Silence observed.
- VI. Action on previous meeting Minutes of November 19, 2019 (Legislative) and November 25, 2019 (Committee): Council dispensed with the reading of the Minutes and unanimously approved them as written.
- VII. Presentations, Proclamations, Awards and Announcements: None

#### VIII. Meeting(s) Scheduled:

- Council Meeting: Council's next legislative meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, December 17, 2019 at 6:00 p.m. in Council Chambers.
- IX. Status of Prior Committee Referrals: No reports.
- X. Legislative Agenda: (Order of Business - Action on Subdivision/Land Development & HARB Resolutions; Final Passage of Bills/Resolutions; New Business.)

### Subdivision / Land Development / HARB: NONE

### Final Passage of Bills / Resolutions: NONE

#### **New Business**

Resolution No. 110 1.

- A Resolution

Authorizing various budget transfers. (View)

Introduced by: Sandie Walker Originator: Public Works (WWTP)

Resolution No. 110, Session 2019, A Resolution authorizing various budget transfers for the Wastewater Treatment Plant, was introduced by Walker, read at length, and on motion of Walker, seconded by Washington, Resolution No. 110 PASSED by the following vote: Yeas – Washington, Ritter-Dickson, Buckingham, Walker, Nixon -5; Nays -0.

2. Resolution No. 111 - A Resolution

Establishing minimum municipal obligations for the city's pension plans. (Fire/Police/O&E) (View) Introduced by: H. Michael Buckingham

Originator: Business Administration

Resolution No. 111, Session 2019, A Resolution establishing year 2020 minimum municipal obligations for the Fire (\$0.00), Police (\$6,017,243) and Officers and Employees (\$1,731,666) pension plans, was introduced by Buckingham, read at length, and on motion of Buckingham, seconded by Walker, Resolution No. 111 PASSED by the following vote: Yeas – Washington, Ritter-Dickson, Buckingham, Walker, Nixon -5; Nays -0.

3. Resolution No. 112 - A Resolution

Authorizing an agreement with eCivis. (Grant allocation services) (View)

Introduced by: H. Michael Buckingham

Originator: Solicitor's Office

Resolution No. 112, Session 2019, A Resolution authorizing an agreement with eCivis for grant allocation services, was introduced by Buckingham, read at length, and on motion of Buckingham, seconded by Walker, Resolution No. 112 PASSED by the following vote: Yeas - Washington, Ritter-Dickson, Buckingham, Walker, Nixon -5; Nays -0.

Resolution No. **PULLED** (This item was pulled from the agenda) - A Resolution 4.

Appointing Philip Given as the Director of Economic & Community Development. (View)

Introduced by: Judy A. Ritter-Dickson

Originator: Mayor

5. Resolution No. **113** 

- A Resolution

Appointing Thomas Ray as Business Administrator. (View)

Introduced by: H. Michael Buckingham

Originator: Mayor

Resolution No. 113, Session 2019, A Resolution appointing Tom Ray as Business Administrator effective January 1, 2020 at an annual salary of \$100,000, was introduced by Buckingham, read at length, and on motion of Buckingham, seconded by Walker, Resolution No. 113 PASSED by the following vote: Yeas - Washington, Ritter-Dickson, Buckingham, Walker, Nixon – 5; Nays – 0.

6. Resolution No. **114** 

A Resolution

Appointing probationary police officers. (M. Tamanosky, R. McGeehan, K. Bowers, T. Koenig, K.

Tankesley) (<u>View</u>)

Introduced by: Edquina Washington

Originator: Business Administration | HR | Civil Service

Resolution No. 114, Session 2019, A Resolution appointing Matthew Tamanosky, Ryan McGeehan, Joseph Abate, Kathleen Tankesley, and Kenneth Bowers as probationary police officers, was introduced by Washington, read at length, and on motion of Washington, seconded by Ritter-Dickson, Resolution No. 114 came up for discussion.

President Nixon stated that we do not have an approved bargaining agreement with the FOP so he's concerned about hiring probationary police officers to only have to lay them off down the line so he will be voting against these appointments.

There being no further discussion, Resolution No. 114 PASSED by the following vote: Yeas – Washington, Ritter-Dickson, Buckingham, Walker – 4; Nays – Nixon – 1.

- XI. Requests for Future Meetings: None
- XII. Council Comment: None
- XIII. Administration Comment: None
- XIV. Adjournment: The next legislative meeting of Council is scheduled for December 17, 2019 at 6PM in Council Chambers. There being no further business, the December 3, 2019 meeting of Council adjourned at 6:20 PM.

XV. Resumption of Public Comment Period (at the discretion of the presiding officer): None

Dianna L. Thompson-Mitchell, City Clerk

Henry Hay Nixon, President of Council