General Authority


The York City General Authority was established per Ordinance No. 2 of Session 1995 under the authority of the Municipalities Authorities Act of 1945 (the “Act”). The Act grants municipalities the power to create authorities, such as the General Authority, to engage in various projects, which can benefit the municipality and/or to finance projects, some of which are outside of the boundaries of the City. The profit from these projects is then brought back to the home municipality.

The General Authority may also act as a conduit to issue tax-exempt debt and can earn significant fees just for being a conduit for such debt. Some of the benefits of having a local General Authority were noticed when local governments saw the need to work together on projects, which sometimes crossed municipal boundaries. Some of these projects include but are not limited to: acquiring, holding, constructing, improving, maintaining and operating, owning, leasing, in the capacity of a lessor or lessee, projects such as buildings devoted wholly or partially for public uses, parks and recreation, industrial development projects, and/or business improvement projects. The General Authority may also provide financing for insurance reserves for these types of projects. One major undertaking of the York City General Authority was acquiring certain assets constituting the City of York Parking System in 1995.

The York City General Authority operates the public parking system in the City. The system consists of three parking garages in the downtown business district, numerous surface parking lots throughout the City and over one thousand parking meters in the core business district and commercial districts surrounding the core district.

The York City General Authority Board is made up of seven (7) members appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by City Council. Each member shall be a taxpayer in, maintain a business in, or be a citizen of the incorporating municipality. The term of office for each member is set at five years, with staggering terms.


Meets are held the 3rd Thursday of each month at 8:00am
City Council Chambers
101 S. George St., 1st Floor

General Authority was established per Ordinance No. 2 of 1995. Click here to view.

  • Members
    • Ralph M. Serpe -Term expires: 1/1/22 (Filled unexpired term of Pam Zerba)
    • Eric Kirkland – Term expires: 1/1/20
    • Mark Derr – Term expires: 1/1/23
    • Benjamin A. McGlaughlin, Member – Term expires: 1/1/24
    • Jamiel L. Alexander, Member – Term expires: 1/1/23
    • Kimberly J. Lentz, Member – Term expires: 1/1/21
    • Dan Meckley – Term expires 1/1/22 (Filled unexpired term of Tim Fulton)
  • Contact Information
    • York City Business Administration Office
      Phone: (717) 849-2237
  • Right-To-Know Requests
    • City of York General Authority Right to Know Officer
      Stacey R. MacNeal, Esquire
      345 East Market Street
      York, PA 17403
      Phone: 717-854-5124
      Fax: 717-843-2590

Search City of York